Posted by: Sarah Standish | July 29, 2014

Leaving Lincoln

Dear Lincoln Arabic students and parents of Arabic students,

I am posting this letter to let you all know that I will not return to Lincoln to teach Arabic this coming fall.  After much thought, I have decided to move to Seattle to pursue new opportunities, both personal and professional.

My time at Lincoln has meant more to me than I can say, and I am incredibly grateful for all the hard work my students have put in.  Because the idea of teaching Arabic in American high schools is a relatively new one, no one really knows how much Arabic it’s possible for American students to learn.  I truly believe that your hard work and dedication has helped raise that bar for the entire country.

In Seattle, I’ll be working as the academic program manager at OneWorld Now!, an organization dedicated to teaching high school students Arabic, Chinese, and leadership skills. I’ll also be working on a textbook for high school Arabic.  Remember all of those handouts I gave you that I made?  Maybe you’ll see them one day combined into a book in the Arabic section at Powell’s.

I will miss all of my students.  Please don’t hesitate to send me an email and keep in touch.  You can reach me at standish [dot] sm [at] gmail [dot] com.

All the best,

أستاذة ستاندش \ Ustadha Standish

Responses

  1. Thank you very much for been my Arabic teacher, Ms. Standish! you are an awesome teacher! I will miss you! Do you know who will be the Arabic teacher this coming year?

    • Hi Penn! Thank you so much. It was really a pleasure to work with you. I don’t know yet who will be the new Arabic teacher but I am working with Ms. Chapman to find the best person possible.

  2. Sarah, Thank you so much for your huge contribution to Donna and her learning. Your new job sounds wonderful. Good luck in your ventures I am sure you will be successful.
    safe travels
    Sheila


Leave a Reply

Categories

